Getting your Writing “There”

“Many a small thing has been made large by the right kind of advertising.” – Mark Twain

 

I have focused a lot of my research lately on the best ways to get my book out to the masses, or even just to make the masses aware of its existence, and I have come up with a list of things that I think I can do with the time I have to devote to this project.  (I know there are writers out there that write full time, and that’s amazing, but I am not there yet so my writing needs to exist outside of my 9-5).  So without further ado here are 6 things that may help get you to the mystical “there”.

Be Okay With Self Promoting

The first step in this has to be coming to terms with the fact that you will need to shamelessly self promote.  Being new to the game it is hard for me to tell someone that what I have created is awesome and definitely worth their time.  Instead I say things like “yeah its okay, if you want to try it, but if not, then don’t because, yeah, it’s just alright.”  It is a wonder why people aren’t flocking to and responding to that amazing self confidence.  If I as the author can’t stand behind what I did and say it’s good, there is no reason anyone else would either.

Make a blurb

Write a paragraph that you can recite in less than a minute and a half that neatly sums up what your book is about.  The most common question I get from friends and family is “what is your book about?”  A few minutes into a rambling and unorganized response I can see their eyes glaze over.  So I wrote a paragraph that sums up the story and practiced saying it a few ways so that I can answer the question.

Generate an online following

This is one of the reasons I created this blog.  To get in touch with other writers, read their opinions, and in turn have them read mine (hopefully).  I have been blogging steadily, at least every other day, for about a month.  I have about 200 views and eleven people that “follow” me.  I consider that pretty good, because last month none of those people knew anything about me.  I have recently connected the blog to my twitter account, but I try not to overload my facebook with news about the book.  It is always a good rule of thumb to promote someone else or talk about other topics more than you discuss your own product or people will get tired of hearing about it.  One successful source of online attention for me was my kickstarter campaign that you can link to at the top of my page.  I am 128% funded with 9 days left to go, which is beyond amazing.

Leave a Reply

