Bob & Amy’s May Movie Radar

radar[1]This is our soon to be monthly Movie Radar. In it we will rank how excited we are to see each movie coming out in the month and why.  The amount of excitement for each title will be out of 5 Radar Beeps (Beep, Beep, Beep,Beep,BeepBeep)

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (May 2)

Bob

I liked the first Amazing Spider-Man a lot. I thought the take on Spider-Man was refreshing and grounded. The announcement of the same creative team being involved with the sequel had me in solid anticipation. The casting of Dane Dehaan, Jamie Foxx, and Chris Cooper was even better. I was stoked. Then the first trailer posted and I crapped the bed a little. I was so afraid of this film after the first trailer was released. I can assume that an effects-heavy 3D post conversion takes time and will last right up until the movie is released, but the first trailer was scary The Electro scenes were XBox (like the first one) level. Like Halo looked better. However, I saw the third trailer with finished effects and was back on the ride. What has really launched this title into dizzying hype is the 3D trailer I saw with Captain America: TWS.

I give this a 4.5 out of 5 Radar Beeps.

Amy

I’m not sure I could be less excited for this movie, and it has nothing to do with the cast, the director, the trailer, or anything else that one would consider to be relevant to the movie itself.  My issue, and I doubt that I am alone, is that I really disliked the Tobey Maguire Spiderman trilogy and this reboot came too fast.  In my opinion they needed to give the audience a little bit of time to digest and work through the trust issues created by emo Tobey Maguire, and because they didn’t I didn’t go see the first Spidey with Garfield.  Because I love Emma Stone I will watch this movie eventually, when it is free on tv.

1.5 out of 5 Beeps

Belle (May 2)

Amy

Belle is the story of the mixed race daughter or an aristocrat and how she must deal with society in Victorian England.  A few disclaimers: I love British television and cinema and Victorian is my favorite of all the time periods.  The cast in this looks fun and dynamic.  Gugu Mabatha-Raw who plays Belle did a short stint on Doctor Who.  Tom Felton or Draco Malfoy is in the mix.  I will likely go see this in theaters by myself for a matanee because no one else will see it with me.  

4 out of 5 Beeps

Bob

Much like the film below for Amy, this is my first time even hearing about this film. Admittedly, it is not in a genre which I follow closely, but I was totally unaware of this. I don’t know anything about the production team on this film, but I definitely recognize a lot of what is on-screen. While our star here (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) is a blank to me, the trailer features her well and she seems at home in this period given her stage credits (Romeo & Juliet,Hamlet). The rest of this cast features stand outs from whatever talent pool of British actors the Harry Potter series uses and that excites me. I love Tom Wilkinson and Emily Watson. The story set up in the trailer feels a little rote (see Aladin + Roots + OMG she’s black, whatever shall we do!) Ultimately, with this setup and period I am not really excited.

1.0 out of 5 Beeps

Chef (May 9)

Bob

This film is basically the Jon Favreau’s “We Didn’t Let You Do What You Wanted For Iron Man 3” good will gift Disney is helping out by lending their talent to this small indie film about starting over and mid-life crisis. I am a big fan of Favreau’s on and off screen work, and here he gets to direct himself along with Robert Downey Jr, Scarlett Johansson, and Sofia Vergara. It is going to get a smaller release, but I would look out for it for sure as a nice date film.

I give this 2.5 out of 5 Radar Beeps

Amy

Bob putting this on our list is the first time I have heard of this movie and I am more excited for it than for Spiderman.  I read the blurb on what it’s about and I consider myself a foodie so that is intriguing.  I tend to like Favreau better when he is not on camera (See: director credits on imdb).  I’m honestly worried that seeing him on screen will give me flashbacks to the ten minutes of Couples Retreat I accidentally watched when I couldn’t reach the remote.  No one wants that.  The story seems cutesy but we’ll see.

2 out of 5 Beeps

 

Neighbors (May 9)

Bob

I may need to turn in my man-card for this, but I am super excited for a movie with MTV Best Shirtless Performance winner, Zac Effron. He is teaming up with Seth Rogan, Rose Byrne, and David Franco (James Franco’s little brother) in a raunch-com about a nice newly parented couple that gets a fraternity moved in beside them. I’m always down for a Rogan comedy. I love Rose Byrne and really think David Franco is on a big upswing. Zac is on a bit of an comeback from his Disney-fied career beginning. Paperboy last year with Nicole Kidman and That Awkward Moment earlier this year with Miles Teller and Michael B Jordon are both movies I enjoyed a lot. (and what is more, enjoyed him in The trailer has a scene of a “Robert DeNiro” party that really sold me on this film’s humor.

I give this 3.75 out of 5 Radar Beeps

Amy

I like when things make me laugh, even if those things are stupid on their face.  The old airbag in the seat does the trick.  Mix that with Zac “My Sixpack has a Sixpack so really it’s like a Thirty Six pack” Efron can be on my tv allllll day.  I think for what it is this movie will be funny.  I think the key here is going to be the timing.  I always worry with movies like this that everything that was funny got put in a preview and now there is nothing left.  I hope that isn’t the case because I will watch this anyway because, ya know, abs.

3.5 out of 5 Beeps

Godzilla (May 16)

Bob

I have a weak history with Godzilla. I know him. Everyone knows him. He is as much a pop-culture icon as Mickey Mouse or Bugs Bunny. My exposure to him on film, unfortunately, is Ronald Emmerich’s ‘Godzilla’ from 1998. So… a ‘weak’ history with Godzilla is putting it kindly. When I heard about this movie staring Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Kick-Ass, Savages), Elizabeth Olsen (not one of the twins), and Brian Cranston (great on TV, meh in movies) – I was very skeptical. I was sure we were due for Transformers meets Jurassic Park (which the film being closer to the former). Then the teaser came out. Thirty seconds of a team of para-troopers Halo jumping with red flares into a destroyed city. From then I was hooked. The full trailer has only made me more excited. The visual effects look amazing, the concept is very exciting, and Godzilla does not look like a T-Rex.

4.5 out of 5

Amy

I saw this trailer in 3D when I went to see Captain America and it looked cool.  It had the big lizard, and the rawr, and the people running.  Nothing about this movie says to me that it will have any plot beyond the aforementioned lizard, rawr, run. Not my cup of tea

2 out of 5 Beeps

Palo Alto (May 16)

Bob

I don’t know a whole lot about this film. All I know and all you need to is – James Franco and a Coppola get there friends together and made an art film based on short stories by James Franco. I follow Franco on Twitter and have gotten some interest in this. I am down with any of the Coppola’s on a regular basis.

2.0 out of 5

Amy

Ever since Franco had his, I’m going to proposition a 17 year old thing I have had a hard time not thinking of him as gross.  I realize that you are probably supposed to separate the person from their work but I have a very hard time with that and I think a good argument should be made that you shouldn’t.  If I knew you in real life and you were brilliant but an asshole I wouldn’t hang out with you and I see that as kind of the same thing.  Plus when I don’t like someone I generally like it when they don’t do well so I won’t give money to something that they’ve done.

NO BEEPS

Blended (May 23)

Bob

Boy I’m a sucker for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore. The problem is that Wedding Singer and 50 First Dates are movies I really enjoy, soooo yeah. I will end up seeing this film. I am pretty certain I will regret it, but I can’t help myself.

1.5 out of 5

Amy

I 100% agree with Bob here.  I want this to be awesome a lot.  And I will likely be disappointed but I will go there anyway.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 23)

Bob

So for me, the X-Men franchise went something like this. X-Men – liked it a lot, but not enough money for action. X2 – loved it  X-Men Last Stand – Was pretty okay with it. Origins: Wolverine – Dumbest of the X-Men movies, worst effects, but Hugh Jackman is a badass! X-Men: First Class – Loved it!  The Wolverine – Hugh Jackman is even more of a badass, but the end is one of the worst I’ve ever seen. – So now here we set with X-Men Days of Future Past. All of these films have wonky continuity and Bryan Singer is back. It’s going to have time travel and they are going to really try hard to smoosh together the chocolate of the old X-Men cast and the peanut butter of the new X-men around, who else, Hugh Jackman Certified Bad-Ass. The trailers have been exciting. I am very pumped to see old Professor X and Magneto and young versions in the same film.

4.5 out of 5

Amy

I come at X-men as a person that generally does not read comics.  I am actually just taking my first foray into it, if you want to read about it here.  So I come at the X-men movies with no expectations based on the comic books and I was not disappointed.  I have enjoyed all the X-men movies that I saw.  I definitely appreciate that the X-men cast actually includes female characters.  There is some debate on the Bechdel Test website as to whether or not it passes but I would consider this to be a stronger portrayal of female comic characters than you see in other adaptations.  I think it will be interesting to see how the two casts interact.  My one concern is that they make the movie the Jennifer Lawrence show because of her recent success.  They definitely tailored posters and trailers to feature her more than I have seen her featured in any movie and that can’t be a coincidence

4 out of 5 beeps.

Maleficent (May 30)

Bob

This is here because I saw the trailer in 3D before Captain America: TWS. I had no idea what this film was about, now I kind of do. The effect and concept are exciting and Angeline looks like she walked out of the original animation as the witch.

3.0 out of 5

Amy

My issue with this film is that I struggle to see how it will be different from Snow White and the Huntsman.  It has definitely gotten some traction in the news and people seem to be watching for it, but I will wait till it is rentable.

3 out of 5 beeps

A Million Ways to Die in the West (May 30)

Bob

I was a Family Guy fan before it was cool to be a Family Guy fan and am still a fan of the classic after we got Diet Coke (American Dad) and New Coke (Cleveland Show). Seth McFarlene is literally one of my role models and inspirations. I think he is incredibly talented as a creator and voice-actor and writer. Ted catapulted into my Top 10 favorite comedy films. The cast (Liam Neison, Charlez Theron, Neil Patrick Harris) has me geeked out and I will follow Seth anywhere (until we get the Cleveland Show of movies.

4.0 out of 5

 Amy

The only way I could be less excited for this is if it was Spiderman.  Seth Mcfarlene is obviously a very talented person but for me his style of comedy has to come in doses.  I can watch Family Guy every now and then and a half hour episode is about right.  Ted was too much.  It took too long it was too raunchy and I didn’t enjoy it.  I doubt this will be any different.

2 out of 5 Beeps

Leave a Reply

