Follow up: Oops, I Bought the Wrong Comic Book

As established here, I am a comic novice.  In looking to change that status (it’s on my bucket list to not be a novice at anything by the time I’m 33) I asked a friend for recommendations on a comic to read.  I gave him a few critieria, the biggest being I am a feminist and I will not buy a book where the female character is a pair of ass kicking boobs and nothing more.  So he thought about it and came up with a nice list of about five comics he thought could interest me and had strong female characters.  I took this list looked it over and decided I would read the new Marvel Black Widow series.

A few things drew me to this series over the others.  First, I genuinely enjoy the Marvel movies.  Thor, Cap, Ironman, the Avengers, I’m on board for pretty much all of them.  They each had their shortfalls but I usually leave these movies entertained and happy.  Second, from what I’ve seen of Black Widow her strength comes from her reasoning and deduction skills.  She reads people and uses the things she figures out about them against them to complete her mission.  While she does also have some physical strength I enjoy a female character whose power comes from her mind.  So this all culminated in me, going on amazon and searching for Black Widow….and there were 17,000 hits.  Some of those were obviously not what I was looking for but others were more ambiguous.

What I should have bought is this:

41ydeGPvkUL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

What I actually bought is this:

download (1)

 

It’s not the end of the world.  It’s still a comic book which was my overall goal.  And I don’t think I can be blamed for the mix-up because the first one isn’t available for Kindle download which seems ridiculous to me (I know it isn’t, I just enjoy righteous indignation).  I am a full Kindle convert and you all can judge me all you want.  The reality of it is, I have my whole library with me at all times which makes me more awesome than the average person and I still get that “real book smell” when I go into the library that my spare bedroom has become because my husband is most definitely not a Kindle convert.

I wish it looked like this, but it doesn't

Above: Not my Spare Bedroom

But the moral of the story is, I credited my friend with the recommendation for that book when he did not.  (In case you missed it he is on the History of Bad Ideas Podcast on Musingsofageek.com and itunes)  Now, I have no idea if the comic I actually bought is good or not but I know that if I recommended that someone read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin and they accidentally bought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and then attributed the purchase to me I would stop talking to them (righteously and with indignation).  So in case this is that situation I just righted a wrong (righteous pride activated).

P.s. I really do recommend Pride and Prejudice and it’s a free Kindle Download so check it out here.  Even if someone forced you to read it in school and you hated it, just read again on your own terms and with a glass of wine.  It gets better with age.

P.p.s not Pride and Prejudice and Zombies never  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

 

2 thoughts on “Follow up: Oops, I Bought the Wrong Comic Book

  1. For the record, the new series – the one you actually planned to buy – is excellent. It actually is exactly what you’re saying you wanted.

    Some other suggestions I would make for some good feminist books: Captain Marvel, by Kelly Sue DeConnick (both the previous volume, and the current one – and while I’m talking about KSD, Pretty Deadly, by DeConnick and Emma Rios, is an amazing, gorgeous book, definitely worth checking out). Ms. Marvel, by G. Willow Wilson – a teenage Muslim girl who’s adorable. She-Hulk, by Charles Soule, a superhero lawyer and so much fun. X-Men, by Brian Wood, which has a bunch of women being badass.

    • Thanks for the recommendations! I will add them to my list of things to look for while I celebrate Free Comic Book Day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

