Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Z: A Novel of Zelda FitzgeraldZ: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I want to start by saying that I really enjoyed this story. The writing style was clean and had a good flow to it, and the plot was interesting and engaging. Okay now I’ll back up again…

This book is written from the perspective of Zelda Fitzgerald who was an artist, dancer, writer, and the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald. She lived a life that was both blessed and cursed. Marrying Fitzgerald at 19, she started an adventure that would lead her to ask herself who she really was and what mattered most to her. Was she a wife and mother, or a dancer, or maybe an artist, or maybe just crazy. Her life was filled with passion and anguish that Fowler captures beautifully.

Seeing the lives of these famous American writers told in this way makes the reader feel more connected to them while demonstrating in what a completely different time they lived in. The questions that Zelda had to ask herself are the same questions a lot of women are still asking themselves. Is it okay for my priority to be my work and my passion? Should it be in raising children? These seem like outdated questions but they are still relevant and I think readers will really connect to the way they are answered here.

View all my reviews


You can find me on twitter @AmyseaMAMMALn

 

Leave a Reply

