Bob & Amy’s July Movie Radar

Monthly Movie Radar

Tammy (Released 07/02)

Bob

I have to say I feel bad for Melissa McCarthy. She is a beautiful, classy, and wonderful actress. It is upsetting that she has been narrowed by Hollywood into only doing these raunchy comedies where she is either a mannish or white trash-ish character. She has shown me in other films and her television show that she has much more poise and talent than this, but she is very funny. ‘Identity Thief’ was a very funny comedy last year when she was partnered with Jason Bateman and I have enjoyed all the movies I have seen her in. I also like seeing Susan Sarandon in this, I think she will be a lot of fun. I will definitely catch this on RedBox, but I hope for the actress that she can escape these role

3.0 out of 5 Beeps

 Amy

I agree and I don’t with Bob’s analysis.  I agree that McCarthy is being pigeonholed into a very physical form of comedy, but I don’t feel bad for her and that is because I think if anyone can change the mold, it is her.  Her star is still rising and it is my hope that when it reaches it’s peak McCarthy will be in roles that utilize all the wonderful things about her.  That being said I want to give this movie a chance because McCarthy is a great physical comedian and I think this movie will highlight that.  Plus the cast of this movie goes on and on with people that I want to watch: Susan Sarandon, Kathy Bates, Allison Janney, and Dan Akroyd to name a few.  I probably won’t buy a ticket but I will rent as soon as the movie is available.

4 out of 5 Beeps

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (07/11)


Bob

I have to say that I totally missed Rise of the Planet of the Apes when it came out. I am a casual fan of the original ‘Planet of the Apes’, I have caught bits of the other original movies, and I am okay with Tim Burton’s remake. When ‘Rise’ came, I was sure it was a cash grab reboot. I have since watched the film and really enjoy it, and the marketing for this film has me very excited. I mean, this feels like a Vietnam War film in the vein of Apocalypse Now, Platoon, and Full Metal Jacket. The marketing has really shown some brutality. I am very interested in seeing Andy Serkis back in the mo-cap suit and I will be trying my hardest to getting a ticket for this in the theater.

5 out of 5 Beeps

Amy

Like Bob, I missed Rise of the Planet of the Apes, and this was entirely on purpose.  For me this is a story that is old and dry.  I do think this movie will be visually appealing but nothing about the story intrigues me or makes me care what happens to the people, the apes, or the planet

0 out of 5 Beeps

 The Purge: Anarchy (07/18)


Bob

I am a fan of the Blumhouse studio production company. Their micro-horror franchises are right up my alley and have a great style. I also think they are a fantastic vehicle for newer filmmakers to be creative on tight budgets. The Purge was a film I was fascinated with from a concept standpoint. Ultimately, I think that film under-delivered on it’s intrigue, but with some more money and a cheaper lead, this sequel seems like it will escalate the premise in a great way. For twelve hours, one day a year, all crime is legal – and in this film we are supposed to see what an entire city would look like on those nights.

4 out of 5 Beeps

 Amy

You guys, I scare very easily.  I’m prone to nightmares and for that reason I avoid things that I think will increase the chances of bone chilling, middle of the night, I think someone might be killing me any minute terror.  This is that movie.  Just the trailer may give me a nightmare later.  But, this movie does seem like it has a more interesting premise than a lot of movies that also seem terrifying.  Rather than having a supervillian that is chasing after a relatively indiscriment group of people, in this movie anyone could be a villian and anyone could be a victim.  This adds an interesting wrinkle so maybe someday I will watch it. (in the mid afternoon with all the lights in the house on)

2 out of 5 Beeps

Sex Tape (July 18)

Bob

I was a fan of the film ‘Bad Teacher’ that Cameron Diaz made with Jason Seagal a few years ago and I liked their chemistry in that film. I have really enjoyed many movies the two of them have made separately, so a raunch comedy between them gets buy-in from me. Add in the director that made ‘Bad Teacher’ and I think the same sensibilities will be prominent in this film.

3.5 out of 5 Beeps

Amy

I feel like I should stop confessing things within this radar but I’m a bit a prude when it comes to sex scenes and sex jokes.  It’s just not one of the sensibilities that I have.  This is likely because I spend a lot of time reading classics (the kind of classics where marriage comes before hand holding).  I can laugh at a sex joke or cringe my way through an awkward sex scene, my concern here is that the movie might be an endless stream of these types of scenes.  For this reason I would not see this is theaters and will likely watch it on tv when it gets there in roughly 2.75 years.

2 out of 5 Beeps

Hercules (7/25)


Bob

We know The Rock has arrived as a full blown movie star – and he deserves it. He is the best thing about ‘Fast Five’ and ‘G.I. Joe Retaliation’ – and I have really enjoyed him in every movie I’ve ever seen him in. He has mixed results with the swords and sandals genre (looking at you Scorpion King) – and it is unfortunate that this is the second Hercules film to be released this year. The same thing happened to Channing Tatum last year with ‘White House Down’ – where the better movie came out second, but was more maligned and made less money because a poor imitation was able to be pushed out ahead of it in the schedule. Kellen Lutz’s Hercules was released in February dumping territory and was ripped apart. This film, doesn’t look much better, but it has The Rock – being bigger and stronger than ever (if that’s possible). I am very excited for this.

4 out of 5 Beeps

Amy

Every part of me that likes to indulge in purely entertaining beat em up action movies wants to see this.  I think the Rock is just a cool person and I’m excited to see him in a role that I think he will excel in.  I will most likely see this in theaters or just after it comes out as rentable and I will relish it with a big bucket of popcorn.

4 out of 5 Beeps

Lucy (7/25)

Bob

Luc Besson is French film producer/director whom I have a weird relationship with. Much of his earlier work in the late 80’s and 90’s (Nikita, Leon the Professional, The Fifth Element) are movies I enjoy for their style and mood. I happen to really feel like the Transporter films are in the mold of those early works, which is why I like him for producing those films. His later work, I am less enamored with, and so many of them look bad in trailers. This film looks bad in the trailer. It is a slicker/sleazier version of Bradley Cooper’s ‘Limitless’ and I feel bad for Scarlett that she chose to spend her time away from the Marvel cage to make this.

2 out of 5 Beeps

Amy

I am a bit more optimistic about this movie than my friend, but not by a lot.  The trailer makes it look like something I will eventually watch when it’s featured on tv or when it is available on netflix.  I am a curious about the role of Analeigh Tipton, who I recognize from America’s Next Top Model.  I think Johansson can pull of a role like this better than a Bradley Cooper could.

2.5 out of 5 Beeps

Magic in the Moonlight

Bob

I am a sucker for Woody Allen movies. He’s one of the longest stringing romantic movie makers in history. They all have a vibe and a style that make them a fun way to spend an afternoon. They also seem to be unmemorable as a result of how many he makes, but the last few ‘Midnight in Paris’ and ‘Blue Jasmine’ are strong and more distinct. I am also a sucker for Emma Stone, I think she has great presence and is great on screen. She is so much fun to watch and should shine in a Woody Allen movie. I don’t watch Woody Allen in the theater, but rent this for your wife or girlfriend and you will get an enjoyable evening out of it with a smart and witty romantic film.

2 out of 5 Beeps

Amy

I will not pay to see this movie.  I am a judger.  I always have been and I probably always will be so I don’t pay to see movies that are made by or that feature certain people, because I have a problem putting my money in their pockets.  That aside I love Emma Stone and Colin Firth.  I think a romantic comedy between the two of them is pretty off putting, but live I said earlier I am a bit of a prude.

2.5 out of 5 Beeps

 

musings logo

Culture Babble is now a proud contributor to the Musings of Geek Network, and you should check them out if you like deliciously geeky nerd culture.  They specialize in entertaining podcasts and articles about comics, gaming, books, movies, and most anything else you can think of!

Leave a Reply

